Frankfurt Moves!


KfW Stiftung has initiated the programme Frankfurt Moves! In order to contribute to the diversity of the regional cultural landscape in Frankfurt am Main.

Through residency programmes in cooperation with partners in the region and internationally, the programme aims to strengthen international contemporary artistic production, support young creative talents and stimulate intercultural exchange across national borders.

KfW Stiftung and the Frankfurt LAB invite artists to develop artistic productions in the fields of the performing arts and to exchange ideas with other creative peers. The Artists in Residence will be invited to Frankfurt am Main for a period of four weeks. The teams will be able to access the professional venues of the Frankfurt LAB and will be provided with dramaturgic and technical support. At the end of the residency, it will be possible to present the results of the work publicly. In 2022 a total of four residencies at the Frankfurt LAB will be made available for the time period 19 July to 19 August.

Frankfurt Moves! was initiated in 2021 in cooperation with "This is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music & Talks". During the residency programme four new productions in the field of performing arts have been developed and were presented for the first time within the frame of the festival. The festival in Frankfurt was be followed by a second part in Beirut in October 2021, in collaboration with the Goethe-Institut Lebanon and Ashkal Alwan, a leading centre of the Lebanese arts scene.

Frankfurt Moves!
Frankfurt Moves!

Selection Process

The programme is aimed at promising professional international emerging artists working in the performing arts. They should have produced their first professional productions and should have been trained in Africa, Asia, Latin America or the MENA region. Particular attention will be paid to those who are living and working on the mentioned continents at the time of making the application. The programme in 2022 will be advertised via an open call for application. An expert jury will select the successful candidates.


This Is Not Lebanon Festival for Visual Arts

Performance, Music and Talks
26.08. –12.09.2021
Frankfurt LAB,SOMMERBAU
Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Within a short time Lebanon has suffered a quadruple disaster:  the revolution grinding to a halt in October 2019, the hyperinflation caused by the Lebanese Lira going into freefall on the currency markets, the explosion in Beirut harbour in the summer of 2020 and lastly the pandemic.

‘This Is Not Lebanon’ gives artists a platform to contradict simplistic reporting on the situation in Lebanon and to develop nuanced perspectives on the country. The three-week festival from 26 August to 12 September 2021 in Frankfurt will primarily present leading younger figures in the fields of performance, visual arts, choreography and music.

Initiated and curated by Matthias Lilienthal, the festival provides the opportunity to discover a new generation. Lilienthal, who lived in Beirut in 2012/2013 and taught at the Ashkal Alwan arts centre, has devised the programme in close collaboration with his co-curators Christine Tohmé, Director of Ashkal Alwan Beirut, Rabih Mroué, performance and media artist, Anna Wagner, Dramaturg at the Mousonturm and the members of the Ensemble Modern Jaan Bossier, Uwe Dierksen and Christian Hommel.


"This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks" is a co-operation project by Frankfurt LAB with Künstlerhaus Mousonturm and the Ensemble Modern in collaboration with the Goethe Institut Lebanon. It has been funded by the Federal Cultural Foundation, the Goethe-Institut, the Ensemble Modern Patronatsgesellschaft e.V. and its accompanying talks programme is funded by the Federal Agency for Civic Education/bpb.

The festival will open with a world premiere by Lawrence Abu Hamdan, who is currently one of Lebanon’s most interesting artists. Abu Hamdan‘s audio-visual installations and performances examine where sound meets politics. He rose to prominence as part of the group Forensic Architecture with an acoustic reconstruction of Assad’s torture chamber in Syria.

This will be followed directly by new productions from four other exciting artists: the performer and trained architect Ghida Hachicho impresses with the precision of her thinking – along with four other performers she will explore the dynamics of group behaviour at the Sommerbau. Marwa Arsanios, the star of the last Berlin Biennale, will continue her feminist work with a performative video installation on the issues of inheritance, property and value. In a film and text-based artistic work, Bassem Saad will scrutinise the distribution of violence and desire and, in his multidisciplinary practice with contemporary forms, the artist Ali Eyal will investigate contemporary forms of conflict and collective injury. Saad and Eyal will both present performative works for the first time as part of the festival.

These four new artistic works will be developed in Frankfurt in the course of production residencies as part of ‘Frankfurt Moves!’, a co-operation between the KfW Stiftung with the Frankfurt LAB to promote rising international artists in the fields of dance and performing arts.

The Ensemble Modern has devised a music programme for the festival in several parts, providing commissions for both compositions and productions. One part is a collaboration with the composer Saed Haddad – another is a commission from the Lebanese composer and visual artist Zad Moultaka. Other Ensemble Modern co-operations are being developed with the pianist, composer and installation artist Cynthia Zaven and with the sound designer and film-maker Nour Sokhon. In addition, a collaboration is also planned between the jazz pianist Florian Weber with Rabih Lahoud, singer with the successful jazz band Masaa.

An accompanying talks programme, curated by Rabih Mroué, will look at the latest developments in Lebanon more deeply with discussions and lectures. Among other things, it will highlight the activist media platform Megaphone, where young intellectuals combine poetic language and polemical criticism in surprising ways.

Individual events from ‘This Is Not Lebanon’ will be streamed, thus facilitating participation and dialogue between a range of locations.

The festival in Frankfurt will be followed by a second part of the festival in Beirut in October 2021, in collaboration with the Goethe Institut Lebanon and Ashkal Alwan, a leading centre of the Lebanese arts scene.

A press conference presenting the detailed programme for the festival in Frankfurt is planned on 23 August 2021 at 11 h at Künstlerhaus Mousonturm.


Partner

Since it was founded in 2009, Frankfurt LAB has established itself as a vital performance and producing space for contemporary performing arts and music in the Rhine-Main region. The aim of its five partner institutions Dresden Frankfurt Dance Company, Ensemble Modern, Hessian Theatre Academy, Frankfurt University for Music and Performing Arts (HfMDK) and Künstlerhaus Mousonturm is to connect the work of internationally renowned ensembles with supporting emerging artists and to encourage a productive exchange between dance, choreography, performance, theatre and music. Frankfurt LAB offers the ideal conditions for this: with facilities of a high technical standard and in a protected setting, artists can rehearse and show their work completely flexibly in a 650 m² stage area and on a 300 m² studio stage.

Continue to Frankfurt LAB


Programme Management

Daniela Leykam


Photo credits:

01. Image: Source: Frankfurt LAB, Author / Photographer: Hanke Wilsmann
02. Image: Source: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB, Author / Photographer: Bassem Saad, Sanja Grozdanic
03. Image: Source: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB, Author / Photographer: Ali Eyal
04. Image: Source: Frankfurt LAB, Author / Photographer: Ghida Hachicho
05. Image: Source: Frankfurt LAB, Author / Photographer: Hanke Wilsmann

Frankfurt Moves!


Mit der Initiierung des Programms Frankfurt Moves! In Kooperation mit dem Frankfurt LAB leistet die KfW Stiftung einen Beitrag zur Diversität der regionalen Kulturlandschaft in Frankfurt am Main.

Durch Residenzprogramme in Kooperation mit Partnern in der Region und international soll in verschiedenen Sparten die internationale zeitgenössische Kunstproduktion gestärkt, kreative Nachwuchstalente individuell gefördert und interkultureller Austausch über Ländergrenzen hinweg angeregt werden.

In 2022 laden die KfW Stiftung und das Frankfurt LAB dazu ein, künstlerische Produktionen aus den Bereichen Darstellende Kunst zu entwickeln und gemeinsam mit anderen Kulturschaffenden in den Austausch zu treten. Die Künstler*innen werden für vier Wochen nach Frankfurt am Main eingeladen, können dabei auf die professionellen Spielstätten des Frankfurt LAB zugreifen und erhalten dramaturgische und technische Begleitung. Zum Abschluss der Residenz bietet sich die Möglichkeit, Arbeitsergebnisse öffentlich zu präsentieren. Für den Zeitraum vom 19. Juli bis zum 19. August 2022 werden insgesamt vier Residenzen am Frankfurt LAB zum folgenden Zeitraum vergeben. 


Frankfurt Moves! wurde 2021 in Kooperation mit „This is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music & Talks“ initiiert. Während des Residenzprogramms sind vier Neuproduktionen im Bereich der Darstellenden Künste entwickelt worden, die in Frankfurt im Rahmen des Festivals erstmals aufgeführt wurden. Dem Frankfurter Festival folgte im Oktober 2021 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon und dem für die libanesische Kunstszene bedeutenden Zentrum Ashkal Alwan ein Rückspiel in Beirut.  

Frankfurt Moves!
Frankfurt Moves!

Auswahlverfahren 2022

Das Programm wendet sich an vielversprechende, professionelle und internationale Nachwuchskünstler*innen, die in den Darstellenden Künsten arbeiten, bereits erste professionelle Produktionen zeigen konnten und in Afrika, Asien, Lateinamerika oder Nahost ausgebildet wurden. Besonders berücksichtigt werden diejenigen, die zum Zeitpunkt der Bewerbung in den genannten Kontinenten leben und arbeiten.

Das Programm für 2022 wird über einen Open Call ausgeschrieben. Eine Fachjury entscheidet über die Vergabe. Weitere Informationen dazu folgen in Kürze.


Festival: This is not Lebanon

This Is Not Lebanon Festival for Visual Arts

Performance, Music and Talks
26.08. –12.09.2021
Frankfurt LAB,SOMMERBAU
Künstlerhaus Mousonturm

Der Libanon hat in kürzester Zeit eine vierfache Katastrophe erlebt: Das Steckenbleiben der Revolution im Oktober 2019, die Hyperinflation als Folge eines bodenlosen Kursverfalls der libanesischen Lira, die Explosion im Hafen von Beirut im Sommer 2020 und zuletzt die Pandemie.

„This Is Not Lebanon“ gibt Künstler*innen eine Plattform, die sich der vereinfachenden Berichterstattung zur Lage im Libanon widersetzen und vielschichtige Perspektiven auf das Land entwickeln. Das dreiwöchige Festival präsentiert vom 26. August bis 12. September 2021 in Frankfurt vor allem jüngere Protagonist*innen aus Performance, bildender Kunst, Choreografie und Musik.

Initiiert und kuratiert von Matthias Lilienthal, lädt das Festival dazu ein, eine neue Generation zu entdecken. Lilienthal, der 2012/2013 in Beirut lebte und am Kunstzentrum Ashkal Alwan unterrichtete, entwickelt das Programm in enger Zusammenarbeit mit den Ko-Kurator*innen Christine Tohmé, Leiterin des Ashkal Alwan Beirut, Rabih Mroué, Performance- und Medienkünstler, Anna Wagner, Dramaturgin am Mousonturm und den Mitgliedern des Ensemble Modern, Jaan Bossier, Uwe Dierksen, Christian Hommel.


"This Is Not Lebanon. Festival for Visual Arts, Performance, Music and Talks” ist ein Kooperationsprojekt des Frankfurt LAB mit dem Künstlerhaus Mousonturm und dem Ensemble Modern in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon. Es wird gefördert durch die Kulturstiftung des Bundes, das Goethe-Institut, die Ensemble Modern Patronatsgesellschaft e.V. sowie das begleitende diskursive Programm durch die Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb.

Eröffnet wird das Festival mit einer Uraufführung von Lawrence Abu Hamdan, einem der derzeit interessantesten Künstler*innen des Libanon. Abu Hamdan setzt in seinen audiovisuellen Installationen und Performances an der Schnittstelle von Sound und Politik an. Bekannt wurde er als Teil der Gruppe Forensic Architecture mit einer akustischen Rekonstruktion der Folterkeller Assads in Syrien.

Gleich im Anschluss daran werden die Neuproduktionen von vier weiteren spannenden Künstler*innen präsentiert: Die Performerin und studierte Architektin Ghida Hachicho besticht mit der
Exaktheit ihres Denkens und erforscht im Sommerbau mit 4 weiteren Performer*innen die Dynamiken von Gruppenverhalten. Marwa Arsanios, Star der letzten Berlin Biennale, wird ihre feministische Arbeit mit einer performativen Videoinstallation zu der Frage von Erbe, Eigentum und Wert fortsetzen. Bassem Saad befasst sich in seiner film- und textbasierten künstlerischen Arbeit mit der Verteilung von Gewalt und Lust und der Künstler Ali Eyal setzt sich in seiner multidisziplinären Praxis mit zeitgenössischen Formen des Kampfes und der kollektiven Verletzung auseinander. Saad und Eyal werden beide im Rahmen des Festivals erstmals performative Arbeiten vorstellen.

Diese vier neuen künstlerischen Arbeiten entstehen in Frankfurt im Rahmen von Produktionsresidenzen, die Teil von „Frankfurt Moves!" sind, einer Kooperation der KfW Stiftung mit dem Frankfurt LAB zur Förderung internationaler aufstrebender Künstler*innen im Bereich Tanz und Darstellende Künste.

Das Ensemble Modern entwickelt ein mehrteiliges Musikprogramm für das Festival und vergibt dafür Aufträge für Komposition und Einstudierung. Ein Teil davon ist die Zusammenarbeit mit dem Komponisten Saed Haddad, ein anderer das Auftragswerk des libanesischen Komponisten und bildenden Künstlers Zad Moultaka. Weitere Kooperationen des Ensemble Modern entstehen mit der Pianistin, Komponistin und Installationskünstlerin Cynthia Zaven sowie mit der Sound Designerin und Filmemacherin Nour Sokhon. Darüber hinaus ist eine Kollaboration des Jazzpianisten Florian Weber mit Rabih Lahoud, dem Sänger der erfolgreichen Jazzband Masaa, geplant.
In einem begleitenden diskursiven Programm, kuratiert von Rabih Mroué, werden die aktuellen Entwicklungen im Libanon durch Gespräche und Lectures weiter in den Fokus gerückt. Im Zentrum steht dabei unter anderem die aktivistische Medienplattform Megaphone, auf der junge Intellektuelle poetische Sprache und polemische Kritik in überraschender Weise kombinieren.

Einzelne Programmbeiträge von „This Is Not Lebanon“ werden gestreamt und ermöglichen so auch eine Teilhabe und einen Dialog zwischen verschiedenen Standorten. Dem Festival in Frankfurt wird im Oktober 2021, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Libanon und mit dem für die libanesische Kunstszene bedeutendem Zentrum Ashkal Alwan, ein zweiter Festivalteil vor Ort in Beirut folgen.

Eine Pressekonferenz, in der das detaillierte Festivalprogramm in Frankfurt vorgestellt wird, ist am 23. August 2021 um 11 Uhr am Künstlerhaus Mousonturm geplant.


Partner

Seit seiner Gründung 2009 hat sich das Frankfurt LAB als ein unverzichtbarer Produktions- und Aufführungsort für zeitgenössische darstellende Kunst und Musik im Rhein-Main-Gebiet etabliert. Ziel seiner fünf Partnerinstitutionen Dresden Frankfurt Dance Company, Ensemble Modern, Hessische Theaterakademie, Hochschule für Musik und Darstellende Kunst Frankfurt und Künstlerhaus Mousonturm ist es, das Arbeiten von international renommierten Ensembles mit der Förderung des künstlerischen Nachwuchses zu verknüpfen und Tanz, Choreografie, Performance, Theater und Musik in produktiven Austausch zu bringen. Hierfür bietet das Frankfurt LAB optimale Bedingungen: Auf hohem technischen Niveau und in geschütztem Rahmen können Künstler:innen auf einer 650 qm großen Szenenfläche und einer Studiobühne mit 300 qm absolut flexibel probieren und präsentieren.

Weiter zu Frankfurt LAB


Programmleitung

Daniela Leykam


Bildnachweise:

01. Bild: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB, Urheber/ Fotograf: Hanke Wilsmann
02. Bild: Quelle: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB, Urheber/ Fotograf: Bassem Saad, Sanja Grozdanic
03. Bild: Quelle: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB, Urheber/ Fotograf: Ali Eyal
04. Bild: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB; Urheber/Fotograf: Ghida Hachicho
05. Bild: Quelle: Frankfurt LAB, Urheber/ Fotograf: Hanke Wilsmann