Nature conservation sets a precedent


In March 2017, the Frankfurt Spring School on Project Conservation Management took place for the very first time for bioscience students and students from related disciplines together with Goethe University Frankfurt and the Frankfurt Zoological Society (FZS).

The course aims to share knowledge on the operational aspects of nature conservation work. The curriculum includes methods of project development and planning as well as budgeting, human resources, communication and how to deal with cultural challenges. The lecturers are experienced professionals from international NGOs and conservation organisations.

KfW Stiftung funds six scholarships for dedicated employees from national park authorities or for park managers from Latin America, Africa and Asia. The scholarship holders participate in the programme and develop a project idea for their park or authority during this time. The finalised ideas are assessed by a jury at the end of the course and up to three of the best projects receive financial support to implement their goals.

Video: Frankfurt Spring School

Frankfurt Spring School
Frankfurt Spring School

2020

This year it is already for the fourth time that „Frankfurt Spring School“ takes place. From 24th February until 20th March young academics learn how to combine their scientific knowledge with management skills. Goethe University, WWF Germany and Frankfurt Zoological Society have once again set up a four-week programme that has a lot to offer. The seminars range from project management, financial reporting, organisational strategies to communication skills. Also, an

excursion to the national park “Kellerwald” is planned in order to discuss and apply the acquired knowledge in a more practical context.

KfW Stiftung (Foundation) has granted six conservationists from Peru, Paraguay, Zambia, Tanzania, Malaysia and Vietnam a scholarship to partake in this unique training. But the Stiftung’s support extends even beyond the Spring School: Each scholarship holder receives individual training for project development. With the support of professionals the participant works on their own project proposal in detail. Every proposal aims at improving conditions in a conservation area in the respective home country. Finally, all scholarship holders present their proposal in front of a jury which selects up to three projects.

Each chosen project is rewarded with a sponsorship of 50,000 Euros for its implementation:

  • Monica Paredes and Frankfurt Zoological Society are jointly responsible for the conservation of the Amazonian Manatee in Peru's Yaguas National Park.
     
  • Patricia Roche and the WWF are building up the strengthening of key stekeholdern in Paraguay for the effective joint management of the Rio-Negro National Park.
     
  • As a Pilot for the North Luangwa Ecosystem in Zambia, Francis Mapenga is working with the Frankfurt Zoological Society to reduce elephant-human Conflict in the Mukungule Game Management area.

2019

The Frankfurt Spring School has taken place for the third time in 2019 in cooperation with the Goethe University and the Frankfurt Zoological Society. Among the 30 participants there were again 6 fellowship holders from the foundation KfW Stiftung who were able to gather knowledge in the fields of Nature Conservation Work, Accounting, Project Development and Intercultural Competence during the four-week course.

This year, the six fellowship holders came from Brazil, Guyana, the Democratic Republic of Congo, Zambia, Tanzania and Indonesia. Building on the input of the Spring School, the aspiring park managers have developed their own project ideas for their respective conservation area following the course. At the end of the intensive training and additional individual mentoring, a jury evaluated the applications. Three projects were selected and received funding of up to EUR 50,000:

  • In Tanzania Regina Domonko carries out a project which aims at stopping deforestation in Tanganyika District through opening up alternative sources of income through beekeeping for the local population. Wildlife corridors can be saved and maintained by her project.

  • In the Indonesian island of Sumatra Andhani Hartanti will investigate how survival skills of infant borns of reintroduced orangutans can be improved.

  • The aim of Carolina Siqueira’s project is to make sustainable use of the Brazilian Savannah, called Cerrado, by including the locals and respecting the savannah’s biodiversity.


2018 – Insight into the second year of the program

The first year of Frankfurt Spring School had turned out to be a great success. Therefore, in February 2018 Goethe University and FZS for the second time invited 30 international students and young professionals of biology and associated disciplines to come to a snowy Frankfurt. In the course of four intense weeks the participants gained basic knowledge of conservation work. The modules in Accounting, Project Development as well as Intercultural Competence were complemented by excursions into the field of daily conservation work – the group visited e.g. KfW in Frankfurt in order to learn more about the work of KfW Development Bank and the role of Human Resources in a project context. The school was concluded by a workshop with Andrew Zaloumis, awardee of the KfW-Bernhard-Grzimek-Preis 2017 and former CEO of iSimangaliso Wetland Park Authority in South Africa.

This year’s six holders of the KfW Stiftung fellowship came from Vietnam, Madagascar, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Peru and Ecuador. Building on the input of the Spring School, in the following days the aspiring park managers were developing their own project ideas for their respective conservation area. After further individual intensive training and mentoring, a jury selected three projects that will now receive a funding of up to 100.000 EUR:

  • "Bee keeping for sustainability in villages adjacent to Serengeti National Park, Tanzania” by Joyce Mungure

  • "Strengthening the conservation of the Yellow-Spotted river turtle (Podocnemis unifilis) in the Heath River basin, Peru / Bolivia" by Kevin Ibañez Saravia

  • "Conservation of bottlenose dolphins (Tursiops truncates) at Puntilla de Santa Elena Wildlife Reserve, Ecuador” by Jennifer Montoya Lopez


GEO Biodiversity Day

2017 – Impression from the first year

n spring of 2017, we were able to welcome scholarship holders from Peru, Guyana, Zimbabwe, Nepal and Indonesia in Frankfurt.

For all of them it was their first visit to Europe and accordingly they were all a little nervous on the first day. In addition to students from various German universities, there were participants from Prague and Vienna in the course. Their nervousness quickly disappeared on the second day when the course immediately started with an introduction into the Logical Framework method, demanding everyone’s attention.

The presence of the international scholarship holders was a real gain for the entire course, as they are already actively involved in nature conservation in their home countries and thus contributed valuable information from their experience in the field.

After four weeks of learning about many different topics, the participants had to take a final exam which all of them passed. 

During an additional week following the Spring School course, the international scholarship holders of KfW Stiftung worked on the project idea with which they had competed for the scholarship and now successfully applied the new methods they had learned.

A jury of experts selected three of the presented plans for implementation. 

  • Roxana Rojas will carry out her project in Peru to reduce the human-wildlife conflict between the population living in the Manu National Park and the Andean bear.

  • Sara Henry from Guyana will administer a structural project to establish systematic planning and implementation processes for nature reserves in her country.

  • Lovelater Sebele will address the topic of commercialisation vs. nature conservation in Zimbabwe.

 

 



Programme Management

Pia Puljanic


Photo credits:

01. Image: Source: ZGF, Author / Photographer: Jeldrik Schröer
02. Image: Source: ZGF, Author / Photographer: Jeldrik Schröer
03. Image: Source: ZGF, Author / Photographer: Jeldrik Schröer
04. Image: Source: ©ZGF / Author / Photographer: Stephanie Kalberer
05. Image: Source: KfW Stiftung; Author / Photographer: Ruben Armbruster
06. Image: Source: Goethe-Universität; Author / Photographer: Prof. Meike Piepenbring
07. Image: Source: ZGF, Author / Photographer: Jeldrik Schröer

Naturschutz macht Schule


Im März 2017 wurde erstmals die Frankfurter Spring School on Project Conservation Management für Studierende der Biowissenschaften und angrenzende Fachgebiete zusammen mit der Goethe Universität Frankfurt und der Zoologischen Gesellschaft (ZGF) durchgeführt.

Ziel des Kurses ist es, Kenntnisse in der operativen Naturschutzarbeit zu vermitteln. Methoden der Projektentwicklung und Planung gehören genauso zum Curriculum wie Budgetplanung, Human Resources, Kommunikation und der Umgang mit kulturellen Herausforderungen. Die Dozent*innen sind erfahrene Praktiker*innen aus internationalen NGOs und Naturschutzorganisationen.

Die KfW Stiftung ermöglicht sechs Stipendien für aufstrebende Mitarbeiter*innen aus Nationalparkbehörden oder ParkmanagerInnen aus Lateinamerika, Afrika und Asien. Die Stipendiat*innen durchlaufen das Programm und sollen während dieser Zeit eine Projektidee für ihren Park oder Behörde erarbeiten. Die ausgearbeiteten Ideen werden am Ende des Kurses von einer Jury bewertet und die bis zu drei besten Projekte erhalten eine finanzielle Förderung zur Umsetzung ihres Projektes.

Video: Frankfurt Spring School

 

Frankfurt Spring School
Frankfurt Spring School

2020

Bereits zum vierten Mal findet dieses Frühjahr vom 24. Februar bis 20. März die „Frankfurt Spring School“ statt. Während des vierwöchigen Seminars lernen 30 junge Akademiker*innen ihr naturwissenschaftliches Wissen mit Management-Know-How zu kombinieren. Dabei ermöglicht die Kooperation zwischen Goethe-Universität, WWF Deutschland und Zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankfurt erneut ein umfassendes Seminarangebot zu Themen wie Projektmanagement, Rechnungslegung, Organisationsstrategien oder Kommunikation. Auch eine Exkursion in den Nationalpark Kellerwald ist wieder im Programm, um das Erlernte anhand der Praxis zu diskutieren.

Die KfW Stiftung fördert mit sechs Stipendien junge Naturschützer*innen aus Peru, Paraguay, Sambia, Tansania, Malaysia und Vietnam. Über das vierwöchige Curriculum hinaus wird den Stipendiat*innen ein individuelles Projektentwicklungstraining ermöglicht. Mit professioneller Unterstützung sollen die Teilnehmer*innen ihren eigenen Projektvorschlag für die Verbesserung einer konkreten Situation in den Schutzgebieten ihrer Heimatländer konkretisieren und im Detail planen. Anschließend präsentieren die Stipendiaten*innen ihre Vorhaben einer Jury, die bis zu drei Projekte auswählen kann.

Diese Projekte werden mit einer Förderung von jeweils bis zu 50.000 EUR in der Umsetzung unterstützt:

  • In gemeinsamer Verantwortung setzen sich Monica Paredes und die Zoologische Gesellschaft Frankfurt für den Schutz der Amazonas-Seekuh im peruanischen Yaguas-Nationalpark ein.  
  • Patricia Roche und der WWF bauen in Paraguay die Stärkung wichtiger Interessenvertretungen für ein effektives Management des Rio-Negro-Nationalparks auf. 
  • Als Pilot-Projekt für das Nord-Luangwa-Ökosystem in Sambia engagiert sich Francis Mapenga gemeinsam mit der Zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankfurt für die Verminderung des Elefant-Mensch-Konflikts im Mukungule-Wildmanagement-Gebiet.

2019

Im Frühjahr 2019 hat bereits zum dritten Mal die Frankfurt Spring School in Zusammenarbeit mit der Goethe-Universität und der Zoologischen Gesellschaft Frankfurt stattgefunden. Unter den 30 Teilnehmer*innen waren erneut 6 Stipendiat*innen der KfW Stiftung, die in dem vierwöchigen Kurs Kenntnisse in den Themenbereichen Naturschutzarbeit, Buchhaltung, Projektentwicklung und Interkultureller Kompetenz sammeln konnten.

Die sechs Stipendiat*innen kamen in diesem Jahr aus Brasilien, Guyana, der Demokratischen Republik Kongo, Sambia, Tansania und Indonesien. Aufbauend auf den Inhalten der Spring School haben die aufstrebenden Parkmanager im Anschluss an den Kurs ihre eigenen Projektideen für ihr Schutzgebiet entwickelt. Nach intensiver Weiterbildung und zusätzlichem individuellen Mentoring hat eine Jury die erstellten Anträge bewertet. Drei Projekte wurden ausgewählt und erhalten eine Förderung von bis zu 50.000 EUR:

  • In Tansania führt Regina Domonko ein Projekt durch, welches das Ziel verfolgt, die Abholzung in der Provinz Tanganyika u.a. durch die Erschließung alternativer Einkommensquellen wie die Imkerei für die anliegenden Bewohner*innen zu stoppen. Dadurch werden Wildtierkorridore geschützt und erhalten.

  • Andhani Hartanti wird auf der indonesischen Insel Sumatra untersuchen, wie die Überlebenschancen von Jungtieren ausgewildeter Orang-Utans verbessert werden können.

  • Carolina Siqueira setzt ein Projekt um, das sich mit Einschließung lokaler Bevölkerungsgruppen die nachhaltige Nutzung der brasilianischen Savanna, dem Cerrado, zum Ziel setzt.


2018 – Einblick in das zweite Jahr des Programms

Die erste Runde der Frankfurt Spring School hatte sich als großer Erfolg herausgestellt. Zum zweiten Mal luden daher Goethe-Universität und ZGF im Februar 2018 30 internationale Studierende und junge Berufstätige aus Biologie und angrenzenden Fachbereichen in das verschneite Frankfurt. In vier intensiven Wochen erhielten die Teilnehmenden grundlegende Kenntnisse in der Naturschutzarbeit. Module zu Buchhaltung, Projektentwicklung oder Interkultureller Kompetenz wurden ergänzt durch Ausflüge in die Praxis – u.a. in die KfW, um dort von mehr über die Arbeit der KfW Entwicklungsbank und die Rolle von Human Resources im Projektkontext zu lernen. Den Abschluss der Spring School machte Andrew Zaloumis, KfW-Bernhard-Grzimek-Preisträger 2017 und ehemaliger CEO der iSimangaliso Wetland Park Authority in Südafrika.

Die sechs Stipendiat*innen der KfW Stiftung kamen in diesem Jahr aus Vietnam, Madagaskar, Tansania, Äthiopien, Peru und Ecuador. Aufbauend auf den Inhalten der Spring School entwickelten die aufstrebenden Parkmanager*innen im Anschluss an den Kurs ihre eigenen Projektideen für ihr Schutzgebiet. Am Ende der intensiven Weiterbildung und zusätzlich individuellem Mentoring bewertete eine Jury die erstellten Anträge. Drei Projekte wurden ausgewählt und erhalten nun eine Förderung von bis zu 100.000 EUR:

  • In Tansania leitet Joyce Mungure ein Bienenprojekt mit der lokalen Bevölkerung in Nachbarschaft des Serengeti-Nationalparks an, um die dortigen Waldflächen zu schützen.

  • Kevin Ibañez Saravia engagiert sich an der peruanisch-bolivianischen Grenze für den Schutz der Eier der Terekay-Schienenschildkröte (Podocnemis unifilis).

  • Im ecuadorianischen Puntilla de Santa Elena setzt Jennifer Montoya Lopez ein Projekt zum Schutz der Großen Tümmler-Delfinpopulation (Tursiops truncates) um.


2017 – Impression aus dem ersten Jahrgang

Im Frühjahr 2017 konnten wir Stipendiat*innen aus Peru, Guyana, Zimbabwe, Nepal und Indonesien in Frankfurt begrüßen.

Für alle war es der erste Aufenthalt in Europa und entsprechend waren alle am ersten Tag ein wenig nervös. Neben Studierenden von unterschiedlichen deutschen Universitäten hatte der Kurs auch Teilnehmende aus Prag und Wien. Die Nervosität legte sich schnell, als es am zweiten Tag sofort mit der Einführung in die Logical Framework Methode losging und alle Teilnehmer*innen gefordert waren.

Die internationalen Stipendiat*innen waren für den gesamten Kurs eine Bereicherung, da sie bereits in ihren Heimatländern einer Beschäftigung im Naturschutz nachgehen und so wertvolle Hinweise aus der Praxis mit in den Kurs einbringen konnten.

Nach den vier Wochen mit den unterschiedlichsten Themen folgte noch eine Abschlussarbeit, die alle Teilnehmenden bestanden. 

Während einer zusätzlichen Woche in Anschluss an den Spring School Kurs, bearbeiteten die internationalen Stipendiat*innen der KfW Stiftung ihre Projektidee, mit der sie sich um das Stipendium beworben hatten. Die gelernten Methoden wurden hierbei bereits erfolgreich angewandt.

Eine Fachjury wählte aus den vorgestellten Projekten für die Umsetzung drei aus. 

  • Roxana Rojas wird in Peru ein Konzept umsetzen, das den Human-Wildlife-Konflikt zwischen der im Manu-Nationalpark lebenden Bevölkerung und dem Andenbären reduzieren soll.

  • Sara Henry aus Guyana, wird für ihr Land ein strukturelles Projekt umsetzten, in dem es darum geht systematische Planungs- und Umsetzungsprozesse für die Naturschutzgebiete in Guyana zu etablieren.

  • Lovelater Sebele wird sich in Zimbabwe mit Thema Kommerzialisierung vs. Naturschutz auseinandersetzen.



Programmleitung

Pia Puljanic


Bildnachweise:

01. Bild: Quelle: ZGF, Urheber / Fotograf: Jeldrik Schröer
02. Bild: Quelle: ZGF, Urheber / Fotograf: Jeldrik Schröer
03. Bild: Quelle: ZGF, Urheber / Fotograf: Jeldrik Schröer
04. Bild: Quelle: ©ZGF / Urheber/Fotografin: Stephanie Kalberer
05. Bild: Quelle: KfW Stiftung; Fotograf: Ruben Armbruster
06. Bild: Quelle: Goethe-Universität, Urheber / Fotograf: Prof. Meike Piepenbring
07. Bild: Quelle: ZGF, Urheber / Fotograf: Jeldrik Schröer