Untold Literatures


In cooperation with Untold Narratives CIC, KfW Stiftung offers workshops and programmes for writers in marginalised communities.

Partner

Local writers, who are currently unable to tell their stories beyond their immediate communities, have the opportunity to develop their writing in the form of workshops and share their stories with wider communities in their own language and reach international audiences through professional translation. 

KfW Stiftung supports Write Afghanistan since 2020 and Write Assamese since 2022, the current projects of Untold, which aim to offer these writers a platform. It develops the craft of writers and connects them with each other. By amplifying their less-heard voices and by promoting their stories internationally it further aims to improve the intercultural understanding of these areas.

Consisting of four components – writing, networking, publishing and translation – the programme also contributes to the development of a local literary infrastructure. Within the framework of digital workshops as a protected space for open exchange, experienced editors and translators will work with the writers in their local languages, to develop their ideas and writing techniques. Selected texts will be translated and published in the UK and Germany.

Untold Literatures
Untold Literatures

Write Afghanistan

Through the project Write Afghanistan, a replicable model was launched in which Untold’s team of international editors and translators work with local women writers to develop their creative writing, connect them to one another, share their stories with readers in their own languages, and reach new global audiences in translation. The Untold Literatures program was initiated out of the conviction that upheavals in a region cannot be understood without local and, in particular, female perspectives. From 2020 to 2021, digital writing workshops took place with fifteen Afghan women writers to professionalise their literary skills. Selected texts were translated into English and German, and published.

My Pen Is the Wing of a Bird: New Fiction by Afghan Women is one of the outputs from this project and is the first collection of its kind, published by MacLehose Press, in February 2022.

 


 

Write Afghanistan in coopertion with Weiter Schreiben

In cooperation with Untold and Weiter Schreiben, KfW Stiftung initiated the opportunity for selected women writers to continue the literary dialogue across national borders through tandem partnerships with well-known German-speaking authors. Their literary correspondences are now being published by Weiter Schreiben next to selected stories of Afghan women writers. Over the duration of the project, the women in Afghanistan bear witness to the dramatic changes since the Taliban took power and reflect on them from their indiviual perspectives. Also, the programme opens doors to the German-language literary scene and facilitates literary exchange.

So far, the letter exchange took place between the following writers:

2021 - Freshta Ghani & Daniela Dröscher, Maryam Mahjube & Ilma Rakusa and Batool & Marica Bodrožić.

For security reasons the Afghan authors publish under pseudonyms. In 2022, new tandem partnerships will be implemented.

The texts and literary dialogues are presented on the online portal weiterschreiben.jetzt and published in German as well as in the mother tongue of the Afghan writers.

Jeanno Gaussi, Erased Memories, © Jeanno Gaussi


Write Assamese

The literary region of northeast India has hardly any literary infrastructure. The nearest city, Kolkata, is considered India's vibrant cultural capital, but the region to the northeast is severely neglected. Up to 15 million people there speak the regional language Assamese, but the established literary scene in India relates almost exclusively to English-language literature. India's multifaceted linguistic richness is hardly taken into account. At the same time, aspiring fiction writers are often marginalized due to circumstances, language and lack of opportunities to develop their work. In addition, the translation field in India suffers from a lack of training opportunities. Write Assamese was conceived in light of the enormous need.

KfW Stiftung supports the collaboration between Untold in the UK and BEE Books in Kolkata to promote Indian literature in translation. The project focuses on new, unpublished Assamese writers and building the capacity of new, local literary translators. Through a public call for applications, promising literary talents writing in Assamese were invited to apply for a ten-day workshop in the Assam region to develop their literary techniques. Following the programme, the development of the texts will be pursued digitally, with the aim of publishing them. In addition, the programme aims to build a literary network for and with the authors. 

This project carves out a space for consistent, quality translations emerging from Assam to generate new fiction for international audiences.

Visit: http://untold-stories.org/write-assamese/


Partner

Untold is a London based writer development programme for writers in areas of conflict and post-conflict. Local writers, who are currently unable to tell their stories beyond their immediate communities, have the opportunity to develop their writing; share their stories with wider communities in their own language; and reach new global audiences in translation.

Untold is further supported by the Bagri Foundation and the British Arts Council.

http://untold-stories.org/

Weiter Schreiben is a Berlin based platform for literature from areas of conflict and war zones. Weiterschreiben.jetzt is an online platform for authors in exile and those who cannot publish or continue to write in their home countries due to political conflicts. The project enables refugee writers, or those who live in these regions and who can no longer publish, to continue writing. Weiter Schreiben connects these writers with established authors in Germany. Together, they work in tandems on a long-term basis. Participating writers gain attention by publishing their texts on the platform weiterschreiben.jetzt, as well as through public readings and highly committed press work. In this way, they enrich the German literary and cultural discourse with their perspectives.

Weiter Schreiben is a project of WIR MACHEN DAS (wearedoingit e.V.) and is funded by the Deutscher Literaturfonds and the Fondation Jan Michalski in cooperation with the Allianz Kulturstiftung.

weiterschreiben.jetzt

 


Programme Management

Daniela Leykam


Photo credits

01. Image: Source / Author / Photographer: Untold
02. Image: Source / Author / Photographer: Weiterschreiben Berlin / Piero Chiussi
03. Image: Source / Author / Photographer: Untold
04. Image: Source / Author / Photographer: Jeanno Gaussi
05. Image: Source / Author / Photographer: Untold

Untold Literatures


In Zusammenarbeit mit Untold Narratives CIC bietet die KfW Stiftung Workshops und Programme für Schriftsteller*innen in marginalisierten Gemeinschaften an.

Partner

Schriftsteller*innen, die derzeit nicht in der Lage sind, ihre Geschichten über ihre unmittelbare Umgebung hinaus zu erzählen, haben die Möglichkeit, ihr Schreiben durch Workshops weiterzuentwickeln und ihre Geschichten in ihrer eigenen Sprache mit größeren Gemeinschaften zu teilen und durch professionelle Übersetzungen ein internationales Publikum zu erreichen. 

Die KfW Stiftung unterstützt seit 2020 Write Afghanistan und seit 2022 Write Assamese, zwei aktuelle Projekte von Untold, die zum Ziel haben, Autor*innen eine Plattform zu bieten. Die Projekte fördern das Handwerk der Schriftsteller*innen und verbinden sie miteinander zum gegenseitigen Austausch. Indem das Projekt bisher ungehörten Stimmen Gehör verschafft und ihre Geschichten international bekannt macht, soll es außerdem zum transkulturellen Dialog der Regionen beitragen.

Bestehend aus vier Komponenten - Schreiben, Vernetzen, Veröffentlichen und Lesen - trägt das Programm auch zum Aufbau einer lokalen literarischen Infrastruktur bei. Im Rahmen von digitalen Workshops mit erfahrenen Lektor*innen und Übersetzer*innen werden die Ideen und Schreibtechniken der Schriftsteller*innen in der jeweiligen Muttersprache entwickelt und ein geschützter Rahmen für Diskussion und Austausch geschaffen. Ausgewählte Texte werden ins Englische übersetzt und in Großbritannien und Deutschland veröffentlicht.

Untold Literatures
Untold Literatures

Write Afghanistan

Durch das Projekt Write Afghanistan wurde ein replizierbares Modell geschaffen, bei dem das internationale Redaktions- und Übersetzerteam von Untold mit Schriftstellerinnen vor Ort zusammenarbeitet, um ihr kreatives Schreiben weiterzuentwickeln, sie miteinander in Kontakt zu bringen, ihre Geschichten mit Leser*innen in ihrer eigenen Sprache zu teilen und durch die Übersetzung ein neues globales Publikum zu erreichen. Das Programm Untold Literatures wurde aus der Überzeugung heraus initiiert, dass Umwälzungen einer Region nicht ohne lokale und insbesondere weibliche Perspektiven verstanden werden können. Von 2020 bis 2021 haben digitalen Schreibwerkstätten mit fünfzehn afghanischen Autorinnen zur Professionalisierung deren literarischen Kompetenzen stattgefunden. Ausgewählte Texte wurden ins Englische und Deutsche übersetzt und publiziert.

My Pen Is the Wing of a Bird: New Fiction by Afghan Women ist eines der Ergebnisse dieses Projekts und die erste Sammlung dieser Art, die im Februar 2022 bei MacLehose Press erschien. Darüberhinaus wurden Kurzgeschichten und literarische Briefe in Kooperation mit der Initiative Weiter Schreieben veröffentlicht. 
 



Write Afghanistan in Zusammenarbeit mit Weiter Schreiben

Die KfW Stiftung initiiert in Kooperation mit Untold und Weiter Schreiben ausgewählten Autorinnen die Möglichkeit, den literarischen Dialog über Ländergrenzen hinweg durch Tandempartnerschaften mit bekannten deutschsprachigen Autorinnen fortzusetzen. Die daraus entstandenen literarischen Dialoge sowie Texte der afghanischen Autorinnen werden von Weiter Schreiben veröffentlicht. Über die Dauer des Projekts bezeugen sie die dramatischen Veränderungen in Afghanistan seit der Machtübernahme der Taliban und reflektieren diese aus ihrer individuellen Perspektive. Darüber hinaus öffnet das Programm Türen in die deutschsprachige Literaturszene und ermöglicht literarischen sowie interkulturellen Austausch.

Bisher schreiben sich:

2021 - Freshta Ghani & Daniela Dröscher, Maryam Mahjube & Ilma Rakusa and Batool & Marica Bodrožić.

Aus Sicherheitsgründen nutzen die afghanischen Autorinnen Pseudonyme. In 2022 werden neuen Tandempartnerschaften umgesetzt. 

Die Texte und Briefwechsel werden auf dem Onlineportal weiterschreiben.jetzt auf Deutsch sowie in der Muttersprache der jeweiligen afghanischen Autorinnen veröffentlicht.

Jeanno Gaussi, Erased Memories, © Jeanno Gaussi


Write Assamese

Die Literaturregion Nordostindien verfügt kaum über eine literarische Infrastruktur. Das nächstgelegene Kalkutta gilt dabei als pulsierende Kulturhauptstadt Indiens, die Region nordöstlich wird aber stark vernachlässigt. Bis zu 15 Millionen Menschen sprechen dort die regionale Sprache Assamese, der etablierte Literaturbetrieb in Indien bezieht sich aber fast ausschließlich auf englischsprachige Literatur. Der vielseitige Sprachenreichtum Indiens wird dabei kaum berücksichtigt. Gleichzeitig werden angehende Belletristik-Autor*innen aufgrund der Umstände, der Sprache und mangelnder Möglichkeiten, ihre Arbeit zu entwickeln, oft an den Rand gedrängt. Zudem leidet das Übersetzungswesen in Indien unter einem Mangel an Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten. Write Assamese wurde vor dem Hintergrund des enormen Bedarfs konzipiert.

Die KfW Stiftung unterstützt die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Untold in Großbritannien und BEE Books in Kalkutta, um indische Literatur in Übersetzung zu fördern. Das Projekt konzentriert sich auf neue, unveröffentlichte assamesische Schriftsteller*innen und den Aufbau der Kapazitäten neuer, lokaler Literaturübersetzer*innen. Im Rahmen einer öffentlichen Ausschreibung konnten sich vielversprechende Literaturtalente, die auf Assamese schreiben, für einen zehntägigen Workshop in der Region Assam bewerben und ihre literarischen Techniken weiterentwickeln. Im Anschluss an das Programm wird die Erarbeitung der Texte gemeinsam digital fortgesetzt, mit dem Ziel, diese zu publizieren. Darüber strebt das Programm den Aufbau eines literarischen Netzwerks für und mit den Autor*innen untereinander an.  

Das Übersetzungswesen in Indien leidet unter einem Mangel an Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten. Gleichzeitig werden angehende Belletristik-Autor*innen aufgrund der Umstände, der Sprache und mangelnder Möglichkeiten, ihre Arbeit zu entwickeln, oft an den Rand gedrängt.

Besuchen Sie: http://untold-stories.org/write-assamese/


Partner

Untold ist ein Förderprogramm für Schriftstellerinnen in Krisen- und Konfliktgebieten. Schriftstellerinnen, die in ihren Heimatländern derzeit nicht in der Lage sind ihre Geschichten jenseits ihrer unmittelbaren Umgebung zu erzählen, haben die Möglichkeit, ihr Schreiben weiterzuentwickeln, ihre Geschichten mit einer breiteren Öffentlichkeit in ihrer eigenen Sprache zu teilen und mit Übersetzungen ein neues, globales Publikum zu erreichen.

Untold wird außerdem von der Bagri Foundation und dem British Council unterstützt.

untold-stories

 

Weiter Schreiben ist ein Portal für Literatur aus Kriegs- und Krisengebieten. Das Projekt ermöglicht Autor*innen, die aus Kriegs- und Krisengebieten fliehen mussten oder dort leben, aber nicht mehr publizieren können, weiterzuschreiben. Es vernetzt diese Autor*innen mit solchen, die im deutschen Literaturbetrieb etabliert sind in langfristig miteinander verbundenen Tandems. Es verschafft den Autor*innen Öffentlichkeit durch Veröffentlichungen auf dem Online-Portal weiterschreiben.jetzt, Lesungen und Pressearbeit und bereichert gleichzeitig den deutschen Diskurs mit diesen Perspektiven.

Weiter Schreiben ist ein Projekt des gemeinnützigen Vereins WIR MACHEN DAS und wird gefördert vom Deutschen Literaturfonds und der Fondation Jan Michalski in Zusammenarbeit mit der Allianz Kulturstiftung.

weiterschreiben.jetzt


Programmleitung

Daniela Leykam


Bildnachweise:

01. Bild: Quelle / Urheber / Photograf: Untold
02. Bild: Quelle / Urheber / Photograf: Weiterschreiben Berlin / Piero Chiussi
03. Bild: Quelle / Urheber / Photograf: Untold
04. Bild: Quelle / Urheber / Photograph: Jeanno Gaussi
05. Bild: Quelle / Urheber / Photograf: Untold